Southwest council of AGRIBUSINESS officers

 the welfare of the farmer is vital to that of the whole country. The prosperity of the country rests peculiarly upon the prosperity of agriculture.  

- President William Taft

Matt Huie; beeville, texas - past president

Farms and ranches near Beeville, Texas. As an active member of the South Texas Cotton and Grain Association Matt currently serves on the Board of the Southwest Council and advocates for the agriculture industry.

L. G. Raun; El Campo, Texas – President 

A rice producer from El Campo, Texas. He is currently the chairman of the Texas Rice Producers Legislative Group and a board member of the USA Rice Federation. He also serves as the rice representative of the Texas Ag Council and the Texas Rice Industry Coalition for the Environment. LG is passionate about water planning and water management and serves as vice-chair of the Coastal Bend Groundwater Conservation District. LG is a third-generation farmer and remains active in his community with his wife Linda.

Jim Sugarek; Beeville, Texas – Vice-President

A sixth-generation farmer in Beeville, Texas, where he lives alongside his wife Gina and daughter Samantha.  He raises primarily corn, cotton, wheat, milo, and cattle.  He currently serves as the Texas Corn Producers Association’s Secretary/Treasurer and has been on the association’s board since 2018. Previously, he served on multiple National Corn Growers Association action teams, and as a liaison for the state association to the national team.  He is a former participant in the Leadership, Activism, Networking and Development (LAND) program through Texas Corn Producers, and the Texas Ag Finance Young Leaders Council.  The Sugareks are also co-owners of Blue Ribbon Country Store in Beeville, Texas.

Steve Verett; Lubbock, Texas — Secretary/Treasurer

Steve serves as the Executive Vice President for Plains Cotton Growers, Inc., a certified cotton producer organization representing cotton producers in the 41 counties around Lubbock. Before joining PCG in July of 1997, he served as the Executive Director for the Texas Food & Fibers Commission. Steve is an active member of the Lubbock Chamber of Commerce and served as Chairman of the Chamber in 2006. He remains actively involved with his son Kristofer, in a 4000 acre farming operation in Crosby County.

Jimmy Clark; Lubbock, Texas — Executive Director

Jimmy is a familiar and respected force for Agriculture in the Southwest Region. Having served as district representative for Congressman Combest and as Deputy Chief of Staff for his successor Congressman Randy Neugebauer for 23 years, Jimmy understands the issues that are important to business and agriculture, and has dedicated a career to improving economic opportunity for the region. In addition to his life of public service, Jimmy has continued to build and improve a third generation family farming operation near Acuff, Texas.

Southwest Council of Agribusiness | 8303 Aberdeen, Lubbock, TX 79424| 806-792-4904 - Main Office

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software